What if I fail the exam?
The exam can be retaken within 2 years of your Certification. The cost to retake your exam is $56.00. There is no limit to how many times you can retake your exam. You only need to retake the section you fail (i.e. State or General). In addition, you are always welcome to attend a refresher course with North Shore Real Estate Academy during the two years.
How Long is the Pre-License Course?
The Night Course meets on Monday and Wednesday Nights 6pm-10pm for 5 weeks. Our day course runs Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 10am-2pm for 5 weeks. We also offer some weekend classes intermitently.
Who are the instructors?
All instructors are proven professionals in the field and are licensed and approved by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Can I retake the course if I fail the exam?
Yes, you can retake the class free of charge within two years of completing the course. You will not receive a new certification date.
If I pass the exam, when will I receive my license?
Provided you have all pertinent documentation and fees (information provided in pamphlet received during class) you will receive your license on the spot.
How long does the exam take?
You have 4 hours, 80 general section questions and 40 State specific questions.
My license expired, how do I renew it?
If your license expired you must first complete the Continuing Education Course. Then if your license expired less than 2 years ago, contact the Board of Realtors at 617-727-2373 and request a duplicate renewal. If your license expired more than 2 years ago, you must send the Board a written request for Reinstatement.
Are textbooks included in the course costs?
Yes. We give them to you on first day.
I am already licensed in another state, can I use the license to get a license in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts has reciprocity or expedited licensure with all states except Vermont. Information on your specific state is available at www.mass.gov or by automated attendant at 617-727-2373. Select the option for becoming licensed (4)and then the option for, if you are already licensed in another state (2).
What is the difference between a Broker and a Salesperson?
Real estate agent: Anyone who earns a real estate license can be called a real estate agent, whether that license is as a sales professional, an associate broker or a broker. State requirements vary, but in all states you must take a minimum number of classes and pass a test to earn your license.
REALTOR®: A real estate agent who is a member of the National Association of REALTORS®, which means that he or she must uphold the standards of the association and its code of ethics.
Real estate broker: A person who has taken education beyond the agent level as required by state laws and has passed a broker’s license exam. Brokers can work alone or they can hire agents to work for them.
Real estate salesperson: Another name for a real estate agent.
Real estate associate broker: Someone who has taken additional education classes and earned a broker’s license but chooses to work under the management of a broker.
What will I need to bring to the exam?
At the end of the Pre-licensing class you will receive a Candidate Handbook which includes a certificate that you MUST have to take the exam. If you lose this booklet, please be aware that the cost for replacement is $50.00 with no exceptions. In addition, you will also be responsible for bringing 2 forms of valid ID and a battery operated Calculator. Your instructor will have you fully prepared for the exam and what to bring.
How much does the Pre-License course cost?
$399. This includes live professional instructor. We don't just put you in front of a TV.
If I register for the class and need to change it later, is that permitted?
Yes. You have seven days prior to the class to cancel...Once the seven days passes, you may not be entitled to a refund of your deposit.
Where and when do I take the exam?
The exams are held by The Commonwealth of Massachusetts with a cost to you of $101.00. They offer exam times 6 days a week in Woburn, Boston and Worcester. Upon completion of 40 hours of class time you receive Certification. At this time you can call to schedule your appointment (information provided during class) to take the exam. The earliest they will schedule your exam is three days from your call. You always want to schedule ASAP.
What if there is Inclement Weather?
If Salem State cancels classes, so do we. Normally your Instructor will be in touch with you about any class cancellations.
How do I register for the class?
You have several options for registering...You can call our Admissions Center at 800-409-2575, register on-line by following the links, or you can stop by any of our locations...Click here for a list of locations.
North Shore Real Estate Academy has been helping students obtain their Real Estate License for over 20 years. Our experienced instructors will guide you through each step of the way to help you obtain your license and become a practicing Real Estate Agent.
Here are some answers to your most common questions.